TeamForge administrators can do a variety of things to help projects on the site be successful.

Create a New Project

TeamForge administrators can create new projects without having to submit them for approval.

  1. Go to My Workspace > Admin.
  2. In the list of TeamForge projects, click Create Project.
  3. On the Create Project page, provide a name for the project. This is the name that will appear in all project lists and on the project home page.
  4. Enter a URL name for the project, if appropriate. This is the name that will appear in the project’s URL.
  5. Write a description of the project.
  6. Select a project template. A project template is used to pre-populate new projects with the structure and configuration of an existing project. If you do not want to use a project template, choose None.

  7. Click Create.

    The project is created.

Approve a New Project

Any registered TeamForge user can request a new project. A new project is activated only after a site administrator approves it.

Before approving a new project, you have the option to review the project details.

  1. Go to My Workspace > Admin.
  2. Click the PENDING PROJECTS tab.
  3. Select the projects you want to approve from the pending projects list.
  4. Click Approve to approve the project and move it to the All Projects page with status Active.
  5. Click Reject to reject the project and remove it from the list.

    The project requester receives an email notification when the project is approved or rejected. If you entered a comment, that also appears in the email notification.

Rename a Project

As the focus of a project shifts, its name or description can become obsolete. A site administrator can update the name or description to help keep the project current.

  1. Go to My Workspace > Admin.
  2. In the TeamForge project list, click the project you want to edit.
  3. Click PROJECT ADMIN from the Project Home menu.
  4. On the Project Admin Menu, click Project Settings and make the changes you need.
  5. Click Save.

Delete a Project

If you no longer need a project or any of the data in it, you should delete it.

  • Deleting a project deletes all of the data within it, with the exception of source code data, which is maintained separately from the rest of the site’s content.
  • You can delete a parent project only when its members, user groups and roles are not in use in any other project.
  • When you delete a parent project, the direct subprojects are moved one level up; that is, under the immediate parent of the deleted project.
  • If the deleted project has no parent, its subprojects become root-level projects.
  1. Go to My Workspace > Admin.
  2. From the TeamForge project list, choose the project that you want to delete and click Delete.

    The project is deleted.

Lock or Unlock a Project

To ensure that no changes occur in a project while you are collating or migrating project data, lock the project. You must have project administration permissions or be a site administrator to lock or unlock a project.

  1. To lock or unlock a project in TeamForge, go to Project Settings and lock/unlock the project.
  2. Click PROJECT ADMIN from the Project Home menu.

    The project is locked or unlocked as desired.

    The lock icon appears on all the project pages while the project is locked.